Dyfed Young Composers – Potted History

Dyfed Young Composers began in 2001 and was originally conceived as a sister competition to Young Musician of Dyfed. Young people under the age of 23yrs were invited to submit a piece written either for a grouping of professional musicians engaged by the organisers or any ensemble they could muster together themselves. However two years into its existence, in response to the poor standard of the entries (particularly in comparison to the Young Musician entrants) we decided to completely re-think our approach. In response we developed the education programme which is rolled out to schools across the region and aims to not only to raise the standard of composition among students but to provide support and expertise to teaching staff. The scheme continued to run as a competition through to 2010.

The following year the competition element was dropped in response to feedback from students. Many found it a deterrent to submitting a work and among finalists it was clear that the competition ‘result’ was nowhere near as important to them as hearing their work performed. This is what spurred them on. As a result we decided that offering more participants the opportunity to hear their music being performed must be a priority. The strongest works continue to be performed at a public concert but in addition a far broader selection of works is performed by the ensemble at a series of school showcases. Thus students who had attended the autumn presentations are given the opportunity to listen to the ensemble performing pieces written by their peers - thus bringing the programme full circle.

2011 to date

Year Resident Ensemble Resident Composer Music Advisor Greenhalgh Commission
2010-11 PianoCircus  Peter Reynolds Lynne Plowman Sarah Lianne Lewis
2011-12 Brodowski String Quartet Peter Reynolds Steve Crowther  
2012-13 Farthingale Ensemble Peter Reynolds Andrew Wilson-Dickson Emily Wright
2013-2014 Galliard Ensemble Lynne Plowman Gabriel Jackson Fleur Snow
2014 - 15 Riverside Brass Lynne Plowman   Siriol Jenkins

2002 - 2010

Year Resident Ensemble Resident Composer Adjudicator Greenhalgh Audience Prize Competition Winner
2002 - 03 N/A N/A John Metcalf N/A Dan Laxton
2004 - 05 Celtaidd Wind Ensemble John Metcalf Pwyll ap Sion Matthew Wallace Emma Downer
2005 - 06 Athena String Quartet John Metcalf Peter Reynolds Matthew Wallace Jack Westmore
2006 - 07 Alba Brass John Metcalf Lynne Plowman Steffan Huw Watkins Ruth Morris
2007 - 08 Electric Voice Theatre Lynne Plowman Tim Raymond Gweirydd Davies Stacey Doherty
2008 - 09 O Duo Lynne Plowman Dr Lyn Davies Jack Amblin Claire Roberts
2009 – 10 Lunar Saxophone Quartet Lynne Plowman Errollyn Wallen Siôn Hupfield Aled Start